No Nonsense Phonics Skills – Box Set (Starter Kit)
26th November 2016
No Nonsense Phonics Skills – Pupil Book 2 (Pack of 6 – Same Title or Single Book)
29th November 2016
Show all

No Nonsense Phonics Skills – Pupil Book 1 (Pack of 6 – Same Title or Single Book)

£3.25£18.95 plus VAT (if applicable)

Pupil Book 1 introduces the letter/s-sound correspondences as shown on the front cover via Multi-skills Activities pages. The learner applies and extends phonics code knowledge, handwriting and new vocabulary, whilst developing language comprehension, via 12 Mini Story pages.

There are many reading, writing, spelling and talking routines to revisit, practise, apply, extend, discuss, illustrate, embed and assess the knowledge and understanding of new alphabetic code, vocabulary, concepts and spelling word banks. (Click on title or picture for a full product description)

For non-UK purchases, we also offer a re-branded version of this book (‘Pick Up and Go Phonics‘) via the following Amazon sites – click on one of the following appropriate to your location:



SKU: N/A Category:


Inside front cover page of Book 1:

The Alphabetic Code – Building Up the Sounds and Graphemes chart with adult guidance ‘post-its’ about the alphabetic code

‘Core’ Multi-skills Activities pages for every letter/s-sound correspondence introduced systematically in Books 1 to 8 (these alternate with the Mini Story pages):

Phonemic awareness, letter formation, oral segmenting, encoding and decoding are featured throughout Books 1 to 8. In Book 9, the Multi-skills Activities pages are replaced with featured Spelling Word Banks (for example: ‘Same grapheme, different sounds’; ‘Same sound, different graphemes’)

[read more=”Click here to Read More” less=”Read Less”] In Book 1, the first full words for practising blending for reading, and oral segmenting then allotting letters for the sounds for spelling, are introduced by the third lesson (after the introduction of letter shape s as code for the sound /s/, letter shape a as code for the sound /a/, letter shape t as code for the sound /t/).

‘Core’ Mini Story pages:

In Book 1, the first sentences provided to decode, to discuss, to write and to illustrate are introduced after only 6 letter shapes (s, a, t, i, p, n) have been taught as code for the sounds!

The sentences of the Mini Stories are always shown on writing lines throughout the series. High-frequency words, tricky words and words with unusual code (letter/s-sound correspondences) and additional (incidental) letter/s-sound correspondences are introduced via the Mini Story pages.

Code introduced additionally: The grapheme th as code for voiced and unvoiced /th/ as in ‘this thumb’ is introduced to provide early sentences for reading and writing. This is re-introduced in Book 5.

High-frequency words: The words ‘the’ and ‘I’ are introduced in Book 1.

Grammar guidance for Book 1: Talk about sentences, spaces between words, punctuation, titles and the use of capital letters.

In Book 1, the concept of spelling alternatives is introduced: the letters c and k, and the letter group –ck, are all code for the /k/ sound.

‘Summary pages’ in Book 1 (at the end of the book) revise and assess the content in the book:

– Matching Capital and Lower Case Letters

–  Spelling and Writing

–  Letter Formation

–  Spelling Word Banks: for the /k/ sound (c, k, –ck)

–  Revise the Letter/s-sound Correspondences

–  Challenge: How many picture-words can you see and spell on the front cover?




Additional information
Weight 0.7 kg
Dimensions 38 × 26 × 2 cm

ISBN: 9781474739672 – No Nonsense Phonics Skills – Pupil Book 1 (Pack of 6 – Same Title or Single Book)

6 Pack or Single

Pack of 6 Same Title (£18.95 plus VAT), Single Book (£3.25 plus VAT)